The Butterfly’s Ball and Grasshopper’s Feast

https://www.podbean.com/media/share/pb-ajeyx-13cc931

I have always loved good illustrations in books for kids. Whether it’s Arthur Rackham, H. E. Shepard in The Wind in the Willows or Winnie-the-Pooh, ANYTHING by Trina Schart-Hyman, the work of Raymond Briggs, Li Ming, Gary Blythe, Laura Freeman, Paul Hess, Dave McKean, Uri Shulevitz, Avi, Shel Silverstein, A.G. Ford, Aaron Becker, Kadir Nelson (very yummy work), David Shannon, Christian Robinson, Marek Bennett, Rob Brookes, or Christopher Denise. I love good artwork!

When I was a kid, my mum bought my brother and me a book called The Butterfly Ball illustrated by Alan Aldridge. It was based on and expanded from a poem published in 1806, which is quite a long time ago. I loved the book and recently it’s been popping up in my head for no apparent reason. So, I dug the original poem out by William Roscoe and have shared it here. I hope you like it.

I might have to make a story length version of it!

More soon!

Simon

Leave a comment