Rockin’

Last night was a rare evening.

I began playing drums at age 12, which these days seems a little late, but I loved drums. As I got older I tried out other percussive instruments like bongos, conga drums, tambourines, shakers and the like – nothing fancy, believe me! I wanted to be a rock star, played in a number of bands had a good number of gigs in small venues, and played a couple of times in front of a 1,000 people. Fun! By the time I was in my mid 20’s I knew I was not going to be a rock star! By then I had gone to study photography and was working as an assistant and second-photographer in Worcester, England.

I moved from Worcester and worked in London and met some great people, learned more talents, and got to photograph the likes of Ben Kingsley and John Cleese. I did small jobs for Survival International, Lea & Perrins, Carmichael Trucks. I worked as an assistant doing shoots for Glenfiddich whisky involving a stuffed cat. I photographed about 300 weddings, my last one being at St. Paul’s Cathedral. I photographed a number of bands that never made it big and got to photograph Michelle Shocked when she performed at Portland Zoo in Oregon, USA! Photography, like playing music has been a passion as well as a ‘job’ for me.

I have also told stories, ever since I was a kid. I became a professional storyteller in 2003. It’s been my career and bliss since then. I love what I do: traveling around New England telling stories (not reading) of old myths and legends, folk and fairy tales to anyone who wants to hear them, or be taught the art.

Last night I got to combine all three of my dream jobs. A friend of mine, Marek Bennett has been in a band called the Cold River Ranters, here in New Hampshire, for a while now. A few months ago he asked me to tell stories and M.C. the CD release party that was planned for this month – last night. I have seen the Cold River Ranters a few times and have sat in with them, photographed them when we have shared gigs and hung out with Marek when we get the chance. Last night I M.C.ed the evening which opened up with the Bradford Bog People, told a couple of old stories, and keep the night moving between the two bands and the sets! I  photographed the event when I was not on stage. During the second set the Cold River Ranters played I joined them on stage along with other musicians as they ‘grew the band’, adding to the banjos, guitars, kazoos, bass, accordion, mandolin, jug, and wash board the four members of the CRR play, sousaphone, flute, more guitar, more mandolin, drums, bones, and me on my homemade cajón, and my Alfred Alfonzo bodhrán! I was in bliss!

Here is a sample of the photographs I took.

The crowd were great. The venue – the Mole Hill Theatre – was packed! The music was full of life! The fun and joy overflowing!

Peace,
Simon

Leave a comment