Say What?!

A long time ago, I began a silly project called “Say What?!”. I posted about it on blogspot. I decided to put all the pictures I create here. Here is what I said about the project at the time:

…recently, when I was looking at some illustrations there seemed to be a little disconnect between the caption under the image and the image itself.  Mostly it had to do with the expressions on the character’s faces. One struck me in particular from Sir Walter Scott’s “Quentin Durward‘, a book I admit I have never read!  It looks like a love scene.  The heroine, or damsel in distress, has her hands clutched (by Quentin) over her heart.  As she looks at her presumed lover, she is quoted as saying: “Durward!  Is it you? Then there is some hope left.” But looking at her face she seems, well, not so convincing. [My] 11 year old inner self took over and I thought, ‘she’s looking up his nose and there is something up there!’ I began to look more carefully at the expressions of the characters in the other illustrations and sure enough there were grounds to play and speech and thought bubbles came to my mind.

Here are the pictures in no real order!

One comment

Leave a comment